Music By Bradley James Blog : An Introduction

Well hello, I’m not sure we’ve met. I’m Bradley (or just Brad), whichever you prefer. Some of you out there know me as the voice and songwriter for the music of Five Times August. I began that project long ago when I was freshly 18 years old (just about ten years ago, give or take some months). Somehow along the way, mainly from a lot of hard work and eating cheap McDonald’s Happy Meals while on tour six of those years, I managed to make a career for myself out of something I love, music. Aside from writing and performing it, I just love to listen to it. I am a dedicated fan. It’s like a best friend to me and I could probably time line most of my life using albums and songs in my record collection. I think a lot of us could soundtrack our life like that. One of the oddities in being a songwriter is that my own music has found itself in that time line. Maybe that’s why guys like Sting write an autobiography, because when recording one album to the next it seems like new chapters are being made. That’s how I’ve always felt anyway, I just haven’t written a book about it. I am, however, beginning a new chapter in life. I’m working on some new songs right now, it’s going to be different than what you’ve heard from Five Times August, in fact, it won’t even be released under that title, but rather simply, “Bradley James.” It’s an exciting time.

That’s the main reason for this new blog site, to keep you updated on that release. But, additionally I wanted a new outlet to talk about all things music related, so when you see the title “Music by Bradley James,” think of it not only as the literal compositions I’m writing and recording, but also as one person’s perspective. I thought it would be a great idea to create a new dialogue between myself and those wanting to keep up with what I’m doing/thinking about. As I’m sure it has impacted your life too, music has completely encompassed mine, whether it’s a song I’m writing, a tune by someone else I’m listening to, an album cover I find intriguing, a view on the current state of the industry, life as an independent artist… this is where you will find all those musings. It’s kind of like an invitation to the inside of my head, strictly focusing on all things melody related.

As an added bonus to those not too keen on reading; video, audio, pictures… I will be sharing these things here as well. This is the mark of a new beginning and I plan to be very active here so please sign up, follow along, bookmark the page, favorite it, whatever you prefer for a convenient online engagement. You can also leave comments and share your own thoughts in response to my latest posts, so you are welcome to include yourself here. Lastly, pardon the early stages in design and layout as the aesthetic presentation of the site will be changing gradually.

So with that, welcome readers and onlookers!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Music By Bradley James Blog : An Introduction

  1. I’m stoked to hear what you’re going to share under this new moniker!
    Bring it!

  2. Cale McClintock says:

    I can’t wait to hear the new music and I’m glad you will be sharing your thoughts and ideas on here. Excited to see what’s in store for ya in the near future!

  3. Betty says:

    *raises coffee cup* Cheers! to Bradley James!

  4. Anita says:

    Cant wait to see what you have in store for us!

  5. Andy says:

    pretty psyched 🙂

  6. gundam says:

    thanks.very good blog and very good share.

Leave a Reply

